top of page

Eligibility criteria for attending CAT Exam

IIM Eligibility Criteria

  • Bachelor's degree marks:

  • The candidate must have secured at least 50% marks or equivalent CGPA in his/her Bachelor's degree

  • However if the candidate belongs to SC / ST / Person with Disability categories, then the minimum requirement marks is just 45%

  • The Bachelor's degree should be awarded by any University or educational institution as incorporated by an Act of the Parliament or State legislature in India or declared to be deemed as a University under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification recognized by the Ministry of HRD, Government of India

  • Completion of Bachelor's degree:

  • In addition to candidates who already hold a Bachelor's degree, the candidates who are appearing for the final year of Bachelor’s degree/equivalent qualification examination and those who have completed degree requirements and are awaiting results can also apply

  • However, if such candidates are selected, they will be allowed to join the programme provisionally, only if they submit a certificate from the Principal / Registrar of their University/institution (issued on or before the date as stipulated by the respective IIM) stating that they have completed all the requirements for obtaining the Bachelor’s degree/equivalent qualification on the date of the issue of the certificate

  • Candidates with professional degree (CA/CS/ICWA) with required percentage* meet the eligibility criteria

  • Percentage Calculation:

  • If the Bachelor's degree marks are in grades / CGPA, the conversion to percentage of marks would be based on the procedure as certified by the respective University/ institution (If any University/institution confirms that there is no scheme for converting CGPA into equivalent marks, the equivalence would be established by dividing the candidate’s CGPA by the maximum possible CGPA, and multiplying the result with 100)

  • IIMs may verify eligibility at various stages of the selection process, the details of which are provided at the website in. Applicants should note that the mere fulfilment of minimum eligibility criteria will not ensure consideration for short listing by IIMs. Candidates must declare and maintain a valid and unique email account and a phone number throughout the selection process.


  • As per the legal requirements, 15% of the seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) and 7.5% for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates

  • 27% of seats are reserved for Other Backward Classes candidates belonging to the “non-creamy” layer (NC-OBC)

  • For the purpose of being considered for reservations, the applicable Central Government list as on the last date of CAT registration shall be binding

  • No subsequent changes will be effective for CAT 2017 and any subsequent selection process of the IIMs

  • For an updated central list of state - wise OBCs eligible for availing the benefit of reservation and information in respect of the creamy layer, visit the website

  • As per the provisions of The Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 (RPwD Act 2016), 5% seats are reserved for Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PwD)

  • “Person with benchmark disability” means a person with not less than forty percent (40%) of a specified disability where specified disability has not been defined in measurable terms and includes a person with disability where specified disability has been defined in measurable terms, as certified by the certifying authority

  • “Specified disability” means the disabilities as specified in the Schedule of the RPwD Act 2016. The categories of disability are:

  • a) blindness and low vision

  • b) deaf and hard of hearing

  • c) locomotor disability including cerebral palsy, leprosy cured, dwarfism, acid attack victims and muscular dystrophy.

  • d) autism, intellectual disability, specific learning disability and mental illness

  • e) multiple disabilities from amongst persons under clauses (a) to (d)

  • f) Other 'specified disabilities' mentioned in 'The Schedule' of the RPwD Act 2016

  • The candidates belonging to the reserved categories need to note the eligibility requirements carefully before applying

  • It should be noted that while it is the endeavor of IIMs that the candidates belonging to SC/ST/PWD/NC-OBC categories join the Programme in proportions mandated by the law, they have to meet the minimum eligibility criteria and a certain minimum level of performance to be considered for the admission process

  • The candidates should read the updated description of selection process followed by each IIM on their respective websites

  • No change in the category will be entertained after CAT registration; hence, the applicants are advised to give attention while registering.

Note for SC, ST, NC-OBC, and PWD Candidates:

  • If you belong to SC or ST categories, your caste / tribe must be listed in the Government of India schedule

  • The caste certificate that you submit to IIM should be in the Government approved format and should clearly state

  • (a) Name of your caste/tribe

  • (b) Whether you belong to Scheduled Caste or Scheduled Tribe

  • (c) District and the State or Union Territory of your ordinary residence, and

  • (d) the appropriate Government of India schedule under which your caste/tribe is approved by it as Scheduled Caste or Scheduled Tribe

  • A copy of the SC / ST / NC-OB C / PWD certificate(s) must be uploaded at the time of CAT Application registration

  • Failure to upload a copy of the caste/class certificate will result in the rejection of your CAT registration

  • The SC / ST / NC-OBC / PWD certificate(s) must be shown and a photocopy should be submitted at the time of interviews

  • Moreover, the certificate(s) must be submitted at the time of joining the programmes of any of the IIMs

  • Failure to do so during the post CAT selection process will result in you not being considered under the reserved category

*Image source: IIM CAT official website

*Content source: IIM CAT official website

bottom of page